I confess, it’s sometimes hard to remember about this blog. It is tangential to my regular life. Yet I somehow have time at work and elsewhere to throw up links to stories I find interesting. I do this on Facebook, mainly because I’m apparently okay with people tracking me for the rest of my life. Also, people I know occasionally post links to pictures of hedgehogs snuggling raspberries, so I keep coming back.

Anyways, as an experiment, here are things I’ve found interesting, specifically from 10/1/2011, as reflected in my self-constructed CIA file.

  1. The U.S. government and industry groups are pretty much in cahoots to approve enormous pipelines across the continent, for freedom.
  2. Occupying Everything still demands justice.
  3. Alabama is racist and sad. Good job, everybody.
  4. The L.A. Times is paying attention to Oakland food policy, for some reason.
  5. Richard Kim tells us why “We’re All Human Microphones Now
  6. Food subsidies make people eat bullshit all the time.
  7. Will Potter introduces us to the “Eco Al-Qaeda” our elected officials invented.
  8. Greece!
  9. Historians Politely Remind Nation To Check What’s Happened In Past Before Making Any Big Decisions
  10. The Marshall Islands have the world’s biggest shark sanctuary!
  11. My Goodness but Derrick Jensen is an insufferable ass. Here’s (a bit of) why.
  12. Occasionally, the Chronicle also reports on things that happen in the Bay.
Fuck, I’m only up to 10/5. I guess this is a two-parter.